Indian Focus News

On This Day in 2011, CSK defeated RCB in a one-sided match to win the IPL for the second straight season

The tenth Indian Premier League final between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Gujarat Titans will take place in Ahmedabad today. On this day in 2011, CSK defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 58 runs to win the IPL championship for the second time in two years. CSK capitalized on having a home-field advantage since the final was held in Chennai. MS Dhoni won the toss, and they decided to bat first. They scored a staggering 205-5.

Michael Hussey (63) and Murali Vijay (95), the two openers, scored a significant portion of those runs. They added 159 runs to the total during their 14.5 over long partnership.

Dhoni (22) contributed some significant runs at the finish, and RCB faced a challenging assignment if they were to win their first IPL championship.

Chris Gayle had been in excellent form for RCB throughout the competition, but the team found themselves in trouble when R Ashwin dismissed him in the opening over.

To make things worse, Saurabh Tiwary's 42 was the highest score in the second innings, but neither Virat Kohli (35) nor AB de Villiers (18) were able to put up a strong performance.

RCB managed only 147-8 in their 20 overs after losing wickets at regular intervals.

CSK's spinners excelled on the sluggish pitch. Ashwin was the best of the bunch and finished with a score of 3-16. Shadab Jakati (2-21) and Suresh Raina (1-39) provided solid assistance for Ashwin.

Related posts

The Dharamsala crowd is devastated by Virat Kohli’s failure to score his record-tying 49th ODI ton

Abdullah Shafique on Australia’s victory against Pakistan

Anurag Thakur, Union Sports Minister, on the bilateral cricket series against Pakistan: “Until They Put An End To Terrorism

Mallikarjun Kharge: PM Modi is like ‘poisonous snake’; BJP hits back at congress president | – Times of India


Juan Mata Seeking Awards With Vissel Kobe After Switching To The J-League

Rohit and Virat will surpass Dhoni as soon as they enter the WTC final, Will create a Special Record